Position : Home > News > Content

Dr. Jiajie Wang won 2022 Elsevier/JQSRT Peter C. Waterman Award

Time: May 30, 2023

The 2022 Peter C. Waterman Award was awarded to Dr. Jiajie WANG from Xidian University, in recognition of his contributions in the field ofElectromagnetic and Light scattering.This prestigious young scientist award, jointly established by the Elsevier and the Journal of Quantitative Spectroscopy and Radiative Transfer (JQSRT), isnamed after Peter C. Waterman (1928–2012), whose ground-breaking research has had a dramatic and long-lasting impact in the disciplines of electromagnetic, acoustic, and elastic wave scattering by obstacles. The award is presented to one young scientist each year for their outstanding work in the field of Electromagnetic and Light Scattering.

The Peter C. Waterman Award was presented at the 20th Electromagnetic and Light Scattering Conference(ELS-XX)which was held in Almuñecar, Spainfrom May 15th-19th, 2023. Dr. Jiajie WANG was invited to give a presentation at the conference and received the Award.

The Waterman Award was competed among outstanding young scientists who work on the theory and applications of Electromagnetic and Light Scattering. Each nomineeshould be nominated by three well-known scientists in the electromagnetic/light/acoustic scattering field, and the recipient of the Waterman Award is selected by a distinguished Award Committee.

Dr. Jiajie Wang’s is an associated Professor from School of Physics, Xidian University. His main research interests focus on the laser/electromagnetic wave interaction with complex objects, optical characteristics of small particles, and optical manipulation technique with structured laser beams. Having been working with Profs. Gérard Gouesbet, Yiping Han, Gérard Gréhan, James A. Lock and Thomas Wriedt at different institutions, Dr. Jiajie WANG has made original and important academic contributions to the development of generalized Lorenz-Mie theories and T-matrix method in the interaction of structured laser/electromagnetic wave with small particles. He is the author of over 50 articles and co-author of two monographs.