Position : Home > Schools & Departments > Content

School of Physics

The Physics department was founded in the middle of the 20th century on the basis of the Physics Teaching and Research division of the University. The Physics of Xidian University entered the top 1% of ESI global rankings in March 2022. At present, it is the pillar of "Information and Communications Engineering", a discipline included in the double world-class project.

The school of Physics consists of four departments: Department of Physics, Department of Radio Wave Science and Technology, Department of Optical Information Science and Technology, and Experimental Center.

The school has been accredited to grant doctor's degrees in a first-level discipline. At present, there are four master's programs in Radio physics, Optics, Plasma physics, and Condensed matter physics, and one postdoctoral workstation in Physics. The school also provides three undergraduate majors: Electronic information science and technology (National first-class major, National characteristic major), Radio wave propagation and antenna (National first-class major, high demand National defense characteristic major), and Applied physics (National first-class major).

Prominent alumni from the school include WANG Zhonglin, an academician of European Academy of Sciences and a foreign academician of Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS), and Academician WU Xiangping from CAS, Academician YU Quan from Chinese Academy of Engineering, and dozens of university leaders and hundreds of successful entrepreneurs.

Previous Page:School of Optoelectronic Engineering

Next page:School of Economics and Management